Rss

Can and Can’t Eat

OMGluten Free logo (2)What can I eat? Do I have to go on a diet? Do I need to stop eating my favourite food? These are a few questions that have been asked after diagnosis. Food shopping becomes more important because you can’t just go down the local shop and get a sandwich or pasta dish that you may have done previously. You will have to become more aware and understanding of what you Can and Can’t eat. Coeliac disease isn’t a diet as such. It is all about being on the correct diet to avoid damaging your small intestine further. To enable you to live and eat gluten free, you will need to cut out foods that contain wheat, rye and barley. Therefore, it’s good to have that basic knowledge of what foods you Can and foods you Can’t consume. Knowing what to add and what to cut out of your new diet can be very tricky. OMGluten Free is here to offer simple and effective support.

The foods that contain Gluten and that you Can’t eat are as follows:

  • Bread
  • Pasta
  • Cereal
  • Biscuits or crackers
  • Cakes and pastries
  • Pies
  • Gravies and sauces

It is important to always check the labels of the foods you buy. Many foods, particularly those that are processed, contain gluten in additives, such as malt flavouring and modified food starch.
Gluten may also be found in some non-food items, including lipstick, postage stamps and some types of medication.

Cross-contamination can occur if gluten-free foods and foods that contain gluten are prepared together or served with the same utensils. Always remember to clean down your food surfaces before you undertake any food preparation to limit any chances of contamination. Being vigilant and aware of what food products may cause cross-contamination will prevent you from suffering and becoming ill. Living with other family members that arn’t Coeliacs may not be aware or realise these adverse affects, We advise ALL members of the household to be attentive to reduce any contamination.

The foods you Can eat and don’t contain gluten are as follows:

  • Dairy products like cheese, milk, cream, butter and yoghurt’s
  • Fruit and vegetables
  • Plain meat and fish
  • Potatoes
  • Rice
  • Gluten Free flours including rice, corn, soy and potato

By law food labelled ‘gluten free’ can contain no more than 20 parts per million (ppm) of gluten.

For most people these trace amounts of gluten will not cause any problem. However, there are a minority of people with coeliac disease who are unable to tolerate even trace amounts of gluten, who require a diet completely free from cereals.

Some good Gluten Free brands to use are: Juvela, Doves Farm,Bob’s Red Mill and Eazy Bake 

Oats

Oats do not contain gluten, but many people with Coeliac disease avoid eating them because they can become contaminated with other cereals that do contain gluten.If after discussing this with your health professional, you want to include oats in your diet, check that the oats are pure and that there is no possibility that contamination could have occurred.

It is recommended that you should avoid eating oats until your gluten-free diet has taken full effect and your symptoms have been resolved. Once you are symptom free, gradually reintroduce oats into your diet. If you develop symptoms again, stop eating oats.

Supplements

As well as cutting gluten out of your diet, your GP or dietitian may also recommend that you take vitamin and mineral supplements, at least for the first six months after your diagnosis.

This will ensure that you get all the nutrients you need while your digestive system repairs itself. Taking supplements can also help correct any deficiencies, such as anaemia (a lack of iron in the blood).

Here is an array of different foods in the form of a shopping list for Gluten Free shoppers!

Fresh Produce:- All fresh fruit and fresh vegetables, Fresh herbs and spices

Fats and oils:- Vegetable and olive oils, Shortenings, Mayonnaise and Salad dressings

Frozen Foods:- Plain frozen fruits and vegetables, Ice creams, sherbets, ices, Gluten-free frozen waffles, Gluten Free Frozen meals. E.g (Wiltshire Farm Foods)

Fridge Food:- Milk, cream and whipping cream, Sour cream, All cheeses including Cream cheese, Butter and Margarine, Yoghurt’s, Eggs, Tofu, Rice pudding, Tapioca pudding, 100% fruit juices

Cans, Packages and Jars:- Applesauce, Cranberry sauce, Canned beans and lentils, Plain canned fruits and vegetables, Spaghetti sauces, canned fish (e.g., tuna, salmon, and sardines), Organic packaged soups, Gluten Free pastas, Corn tortillas

Snacks:- Rice cakes, rice crackers, Soy crisps, Popcorn, Cheese puffs, Potato and corn chips, Sweets, Chocolates, Dried fruits, Gluten Free biscuits and cakes. Eg. (Crimbles do Bake-well tarts, Muffins, Flapjack and our favourite! Coconut macaroons.) 

Meat and Fish:- All fresh beef and poultry, All fish and shellfish, Hot dogs and luncheon meats (For anything pre-packaged or pre-wrapped, check labels for additives)

Grains and seeds:- Quinoa, Rice, Buckwheat, Chickpeas, Sunflower seeds

Condiments:- Vinegars (but not malt vinegar), Mustard, Ketchup, Horseradish, Jams and jellies, Honey, Maple syrup, Relish, pickles, olives

Cereals:- Cream of Rice cereal, Puffed rice, puffed corn, Gluten-free cereals E.g (Barkat cornflakes, Doves cereal flakes, Hale and Hearty honey pops, Natures path O’s and Whole Earth’s cornflakes)

Baking ingredients:- Sugar, Salt and pepper, Herbs and spices, Evaporated or condensed milk, Corn meal, Baking soda, Baking powder, Gluten-free flours, Baking chocolate, Cocoa

Beverages:- Coffee and Tea (but check the Gluten Free status of flavoured coffees and teas), Soft drinks, Fruit juice

Alcohols:- Wine, Vodka, Scotch Whiskey, Sherry, Champagne, Rum, Gin, Cognac, Brandy, Cider ( Made from apples and other tasty fruits, But check label as many add barley), a few beers E.g ( Greens gluten free beer, Harvester fresh Hop IPA and Dogfish Head Tweason’Ale) just to name a few. Check your local brewery encase they offer some Gluten Free beers or lagers

Nuts and Beans:- Dried beans and peas, Plain nuts, Peanut, Almond and Cashew butter

Many of us find that on jars and sauces we are just not quite sure what we Can and Can’t eat. As long as your sauces don’t use flours that contain gluten, you can just about make any Sauce, Gravy and Filling.    

Here is a list of Gluten Free and Non Gluten Free ingredients:

Gluten-free:

  • aspartame
  • artificial sweetener
  • caramel
  • citric acid
  • corn malt
  • dextrose
  • glucose syrup
  • isomalt
  • magnesium stearate
  • maize starch
  • maltitol
  • maltodextrin
  • modified maize starch
  • modified starch
  • monosodium glutamate
  • rice malt
  • rice rusk
  • sorbitol
  • textured vegetable protein
  • xanthan gum.

Not gluten-free:

  • wheat flour
  • wheat starch
  • modified wheat starch
  • wheat rusk
  • wheat bran
  • barley malt
  • barley flour
  • oat bran
  • rye flour.

I Hope this added information will help you understand better and learn more about the foods you are consuming. Keep a note and you can always refer back to this page!

Comments (2)

  1. imitation louis vuitton bags…

    I go to see day-to-day some websites and sites to read articles or reviews, except this blog gives quality based writingCan and Can’t Eat » OMGluten Free….

  2. Free Piano

    I am glad and nice to be a visitant of this everlasting blog ! appreciate it for this rare information indeed!.

Leave a Reply